菜单
关注我们

案例研究--用预测分析法预测内陆船只的ETA时间

目录

关于该项目

柏林工业大学的物流系由Frank Straube博士教授领导,每年为120名工业工程专业的学生提供物流方面的培训,以适应商业世界的需求。高度重视教学的实际意义。在 "供应链分析 "课程中,学生学会了在物流和供应链管理的背景下,通过使用数据和分析方法,在广泛的案例研究中解决现实世界的问题。通常会选择一家公司作为案例研究伙伴,该公司有某种内部挑战,可以通过开展分析活动来解决。然后,学生有六个星期的时间以小组项目的形式来解决所给的挑战。

在2021年夏季学期,与SELECT研究项目合作进行了一项案例研究,学生们学会了利用AIS数据为内陆船只开发到达时间预测。在SELECT("Smarte Entscheidungsassistenz für Logistikketten der Binnenschifffahrt durch ETA-Prognosen")研究项目中,柏林工业大学物流系主任与航运业的各公司,包括BEHALA, Deutsche Binnenreederei, Duisport, HGK和modal 3 Logistik,正在为内陆航运开发一个智能决策支持系统。该项目开发的解决方案应有助于提高未来内河运输链的可靠性和效率。其中,一个主要目标是利用机器学习来开发预测预计到达时间(ETA)。

作为德国联邦交通和数字基础设施部(BMVI)的创新港口技术(IHATEC)资助项目的一部分,SELECT项目的资助期为2020年至2023年。

数据基础

FleetMon 为SELECT项目提供了大量诸如莱茵河和易北河等特定内河运输走廊的AIS数据。ETA预测不仅要包括行驶过程,还要包括锁止过程和沿途的休息时间,以及在港口的周转时间,最终可以计算出复杂船舶行程的过程时间。

为学生们提供了各种数据源,以便他们完成任务。案例研究的基础是由FleetMon 提供的莱茵河上大约150个船舶航行的AIS信息。其他数据来源包括水位,这对莱茵河来说特别重要。

案例研究的目标

欧洲最重要的水路之一是莱茵河。每天有几百艘内河船通过这条水道。为了正确协调航运公司、内陆港口和海港以及其他行为者之间的流程,关于到达时间的精确信息是非常重要的。因此,在 "供应链分析 "课程中,学生们被赋予的任务是开发一个预测模型,用于预测莱茵河-美因河地区和ARA港口之间的船舶航行的ETA。此外,这种分析能力必须以决策支持工具的形式提供给相关的利益相关者。因此,学生们的另一个任务是设计一个可能的前端,以模拟仪表盘的形式提供ETA信息。

案例研究的实施

学生小组遵循CRISP-DM流程(数据挖掘的跨行业标准流程),这是一个标准化、结构化的程序模型,用于开展分析活动。首先,确定商业问题。其次,学生们继续获取更多的相关数据,如特定地区的天气或假期数据。随后,对这些数据进行彻底分析,以获得更多关于样本路线特征的洞察力。为此,我们使用了编程语言R,它是一个用于统计计算和图形的免费软件环境。按照探索性的方法,学生们对数据进行了梳理,寻找可用于预测旅行时间的变量。船只在周末是否因为业余水手堵塞船闸而走得慢?天气状况是否对航行过程有重大影响?在这个步骤中,我们探讨了这些以及更多的问题。

例如,在绘制航行时间和船舶吃水情况时,研究发现,根据船舶类型(油轮或集装箱船),吃水情况对航行时间有或没有影响。因此,油轮完全不受吃水程度的影响。另一方面,货船在吃水水平增加时,显示出更长的行程时间。然而,由于数据集相当小,应谨慎看待这一结果。

另一个小组使用详细的AIS数据来确定任何地点,即给定航线上的船只通常在那里休息。可以观察到,有更多或更少的地方可以进行休息。这使得我们可以对航线的特点得出进一步的结论。

这些以及更多的见解随后被用来创建预测算法,使用的方法包括线性回归和极端梯度提升树。这导致了可用的预测模型,并与基线(平均旅行时间,以及船长预测的ETA)进行了测试。考虑到学生小组只有有限的时间进行分析,结果令人印象深刻。

作为最后一步,设计了仪表盘(模型),作为航运和港口业的利益相关者如何使用所开发的解决方案的概念证明。仪表盘的设计是为了满足用户的需求,为他们提供相关货物处理过程的决策支持。

六周过去后,所有学生小组在SELECT项目成员面前展示了他们的成果。案例研究对学生来说是一个很大的好处,但对研究项目来说也是如此。一方面,学生们能够分析真实世界的数据,关注一个真实的商业问题。他们有机会深化他们在数据分析和预测模型方面的技能,并获得对数据分析师工作的实际见解。另一方面,SELECT项目的成员获得了一些新的想法,即如何进一步改进项目中正在开发的现有IT原型,例如增加更多的数据源。在案例研究的监督过程中,我们清楚地看到,AIS数据是分析和优化涉及内陆船舶运输的供应链中的物流过程的一个重要数据来源。

博客

访问我们的博客,阅读相关文章德国大学信任FleetMon 作为研究项目的AIS数据提供者

目录

分享这个项目

Case Study – Forecasting Inland Vessel ETA with Predictive Analytics

Table of Contents

About the Project

The Logistics Department at the Technical University of Berlin, headed by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Straube, annually prepares 120 industrial engineering students with a focus on logistics for the demands of the business world. A high value is placed on the practical relevance of the teaching.  In the course “Supply Chain Analytics” students learn to solve real-world problems in the context of Logistics and Supply Chain Management by using data and analytical methods within extensive case studies. Usually a company is selected as a case study partner, which has some kind of internal challenges, that can be addressed by conducting an analytics initiative. The students then get six weeks to tackle the given challenges in form of a group project.

In the summer semester 2021, a case study was conducted in collaboration with the SELECT research project, where students learned to develop an arrival time prediction for inland vessels using AIS data. In the research project SELECT (“Smarte Entscheidungsassistenz für Logistikketten der Binnenschifffahrt durch ETA-Prognosen”) the Chair of Logistics at the Technische Universität Berlin together with various companies from shipping industry, including BEHALA, Deutsche Binnenreederei, Duisport, HGK and modal 3 Logistik, is developing an intelligent decision support system for inland shipping. The solution developed in the project should contribute to increasing the reliability and efficiency of inland waterway transport chains in the future. One main goal, among others, is to develop a prediction for Estimated Times of Arrival (ETA) using machine learning.

The SELECT project is funded from 2020 to 2023 as part of the Innovative Port Technologies (IHATEC) funding program of the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI).

Data Basis

FleetMon provided the SELECT project with extensive amounts of AIS data for specific inland waterway transport corridors such as the Rhine and the Elbe. The ETA prediction should not only cover the traveling process but also locking processes and resting times along the chain as well as turnaround times in the port, which finally allows to calculate process times for complex ship journeys.

Various data sources were provided for the students to work on the task. The basis for the case study were AIS messages of approximately 150 ship voyages on the Rhine, provided by FleetMon. Other data sources included water levels, which are of particular importance for the Rhine.

Goal of the Case Study

One of the most important waterways in Europe is the Rhine. Several hundred inland vessels pass through this waterway every day. For the proper coordination of processes between shipping companies, inland ports and seaports as well as other actors, precise information on arrival times is of great importance. In the course “Supply Chain Analytics”, the students were therefore given the task of developing a predictive model for ETA prediction for ship voyages between the Rhine-Main area and the ARA ports.  This analytical capability furthermore has to be made available to relevant stakeholders in form of a decision support tool. Another task for the students was therefore to design a possible front-end in form of a dashboard mock-up to provide the ETA information.

Implementation of the Case Study

The student groups followed the CRISP-DM process (Cross Industry Standard Process for Data Mining), which is a standardized, structured procedure model for conducting Analytics Initiatives. First, the Business Problem was identified. Secondly, the students went on acquiring more relevant data, like weather or holiday data for the given areas. Subsequently, that data was thoroughly analyzed to gain more insights about the characteristics of the sample route. For this purpose, the programming language R was used, which is a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics. Following an exploratory approach, the students combed through the data in search for variables, that could be used to predict the trip duration. Are ships going slower on weekends due to amateur sailors clogging the locks? Do weather conditions have a significant impact on the course of the voyage? These and many more questions were explored in this step.

When plotting the trip duration and the vessel’s draught, for example, it was examined that depending on the vessel type (tank ship or container ship), the draught did or did not have an impact on the trip duration. Therefore, tank ships are not influenced by the level of draught at all. Cargo ships on the other hand, showed a longer trip duration when their draught level increased. However, as the data set was rather small, this result should be viewed with caution.

Another group used the detailed AIS data to identify any spots, where vessels on the given route usually take breaks. It could be observed that there are more und less popular places where the breaks can be taken. This allowed for further conclusions about the characteristics of the route to be drawn.

These and many more insights were consequently used to create forecasting algorithms with the use of several methods including linear regression and extreme gradient boosting trees. This resulted in usable prediction models, which were tested against a baseline (the mean trip duration, as well as the predicted ETA by the skippers). The results were impressive – considering the student groups only had a limited time for their analyses.

As the last step, dashboards (mock-ups) were designed as a proof-of-concept of how the developed solutions could be used by stakeholders of the shipping and port industry. The dashboards were designed to fit the user’s needs by providing them with decision support for relevant cargo handling processes.

After the six weeks passed, all student groups presented their results in front of members of the SELECT project. The case study was a great benefit for the students, but also for the research project. The students on the one hand were able to analyze real-world data looking at a real business problem. They had the opportunity to deepen their skills in data analysis and predictive modeling and to gain practical insights into the work of a data analyst. The members of the SELECT project, on the other hand, received some new ideas on how the existing IT prototype being developed in the project could be further improved, for example by adding further data sources. During the supervision of the case study, it became clear, that AIS Data is an essential source of data for analyzing and optimizing logistics processes in supply chains involving inland vessel transport.

Blog

Table of Contents

Share This Project

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email