菜单
关注我们

PRESEA - 由人工智能支持的交通预测,以提高海上安全。

目录

项目背景

与回顾性的考虑不同,对某些海域或港口的航运交通的预测性概述还不可能。除了经济方面,海上交通预测在安全和环境政策方面也很重要。在发生事故或打捞,堵塞或缩小航道的情况下(如苏伊士运河的EVER GIVEN),交通预测有利于管理该地区未来的航运交通。该项目为海运业提供了一种新的服务,并实现了创新的商业模式。该应用程序对海运物流公司很有帮助,他们可以从改进的港口预测和到达时间中受益,对海事安全当局也很有帮助,他们可以第一次提前获得有关北海和波罗的海预期交通量的详细信息。作为PRESEA的一部分而开发的海上交通预测网络应用,被航运公司、运河运营商和交通控制中心用来提高海上安全。

项目目标

PRESEA的目的是开发一个由人工智能支持的实时软件应用程序,提前14天预测北海和波罗的海某一地区的实际海上交通,并以用户友好的方式显示。该软件基于AIS数据(自动识别系统)、常规服务、轮渡和游轮的时间表以及潮汐和天气数据。 

播放视频

联合国位置代码的审查

海上交通预测的一个重要步骤是解释AIS中的目的地。很多时候,船舶使用UNLoCode来实现这一目的。为了检查JCS是否记录了一个港口的所有LoCodes,将这些LoCodes与4500多个FleetMon 港口区域进行了比较。在这次调查中,在联合国数据库中发现了几个错误,并将其转给了当局。

确定航行中即将到来的港口

在一个复杂的程序中,下一个港口是根据AIS中包含的目的地字符串来确定的。超过30万个港口名称的备选拼写和解释被用于此目的。考虑到最后一次停靠的港口,下一个港口与UNLoCode一起被确定。

在侧面的例子中,"大西洋四叶草 "号被确定为下一个港口是越南的Hon Gai。这艘船现在被引导到它的目的地,使用的是一种路由算法。

下一个关键步骤是确定预期即将到来的港口。为此,使用了2010年至2020年的港口停靠时间,并使用了每艘船(AIS A级)的港口停靠时间。通过交叉参考目前的状态和船舶目前的管理者和所有者,预测出未来的5个港口。在这个过程中,对数以亿计的港口停靠进行了检查,并将其与所述的相互关系联系起来。
对结果进行了永久性检查。在这个过程中,跳转到过去的任何时间点,并将结果与随后的过去进行核对。
评估的结果是一个非常好的命中率,这意味着JCS将能够预测几乎所有商业上描述的船舶的未来港口。

实施

MERMAID(基于AIS数据的海上路线图)联合项目的帮助下,世界范围内的航运交通及其算法,以及基本的人工智能(AI)过程的应用,信息都是相互联系的。人工智能的目的是尽可能精确地预测下一个港口,同时考虑到以前停靠的港口、船舶类型和船舶长度。PRESEA的一项特殊创新是为已经考虑到浅滩和海峡等静态环境条件的路由网络提供自动动态,在出现天气现象时,根据不同类型的船舶进行复杂的计算,实时转变航线指引。

结果

该项目取得的一个重要里程碑是对下一个目的地港口的可靠检测(AIS目的地解释器),其概率超过90%。当在船上的AIS中手动输入目的地或目的港时,经常出现打字错误和模糊的缩写。由FleetMon 开发的自学算法将手工输入与实际的目的港进行比较,使港口信息得到清晰的解释。另一个里程碑是改进船舶在港口的估计到达时间(ETA)。在PreSEA的范围内,由于货物装载时间或天气事件(如风暴)造成的延迟与原来的到达时间相关联,这意味着可以更精确地确定旅行时间。在2021年11月30日项目结束后,JAKOTA Cruise Systems公司将继续把该演示器开发成一个可用于全球海上交通预测的市场产品。

视觉化的结果

海报1:自动识别系统(AIS) 为了提高海上交通的安全性和更好地控制航运,AIS成为各种船舶的一项设备义务。哪些船舶会受到影响,系统是如何建立的,它是如何工作的,以及其他一些关于AIS的信息已经被汇编成海报,并在海报中展示,清晰而有信息。

海报2:世界各地的同名港口 为了使船舶能够清楚地显示其目的地并在AIS中正确显示,每个港口都有一个所谓的LOCODE。然而,有可能发生的情况是,船员在AIS中输入了各自港口的全名。这在某些情况下会导致歧义,因为世界上有各种同名的港口。在这张海报中,我们可以看到最重要的几个港口的图片。

海报3:UN/LOCODE 该子项目的主要任务之一是开发有意义的算法来分配目的港。这些通常在AIS中被输入为所谓的LOCODE。这导致了各种问题,例如,根据LOCODE的法律基础以及如何和由谁分配和记录。为了清楚地说明问题,我们制作了一张海报,上面有关于这个主题的最重要信息。

项目的完成

在2022年春季完成该项目后,可以总结出以下里程碑。即将到来的港口将被可靠地识别,概率超过90%。通过自学算法,手工输入的目的港中的拼写错误和模糊的缩写可以与实际的目的港相匹配,并得到毫不含糊的解释。因此,船舶在未来港口的到达时间(ETA=估计到达时间)可以更准确地确定。摘录和项目成果将在在线闭幕活动中展示。与人工智能、船舶安全和排放有关的进一步研究和产品开发被认为是几乎肯定的。在工业界,该项目成果将从2022年中期开始被几个大公司用作内部研究的一部分,然后在物流部门投入使用。

德国北部海事集群的闭幕活动
PreSEA项目的闭幕活动将于2022年5月16日下午1:00至3:30以数字方式举行,主题是 "通过人工智能支持的海上交通预测增加海运供应链的弹性|PRESEA"。组织者是FleetMon 和德国北部海事集群的海事安全专家小组。

活动

什么时候?2020年9月24日

会议上介绍了PRESEA项目。演讲的题目是 "PRESEA项目 - 紧急情况下海上交通预测的优势"。

博客和出版物

航运业的数据革命

FleetMon 该项目致力于研究一种可扩展的基于人工智能的方法,以预测基于AIS历史数据的船舶即将到达的港口目的地。该方法主要是为了填补船舶AIS目的地条目无法解释的情况。我们成功地找到了一个稳定和高效的数据库内人工智能解决方案,它建立在马尔可夫模型上,适合大规模并行预测任务的高精确度。这项研究是一个名为PRESEA("基于实时的海上交通预测")的资助项目的一部分。

基于实时的海上交通预测如何帮助组织和优化海上货物的流动

作为2019年夏季开始的PRESEA研究项目的一部分,将开发一个基于实时的海上交通预测应用程序。与显示查询时船舶位置的现有系统相比,新的软件原型将计算并显示世界上任何海域未来几天的预期船舶数量。

由EmbedPress提供

目录

项目协调人

JAKOTA Cruise Systems GmbH

FleetMon | 追踪七大海洋

项目合作伙伴

协理合伙人

Reederei F.Laeisz, Daimler AG, Synfioo, DNV

联邦经济和能源部
创立者是

BMWI - 联邦经济事务和能源部

项目框架

海事安全的实时技术

尤利希项目负责人
推销员

尤利希项目负责人

项目期限

2019年6月-2021年11月

资金量

750,000欧元

联系我们

项目标志 (.png, 透明)

分享这个项目

PRESEA – AI-supported traffic forecast to increase maritime safety

Table of Contents

Project background

In contrast to retrospective considerations, predictive overviews of shipping traffic in certain sea areas or ports have not yet been possible. Besides economic aspects, the sea traffic forecast is important in terms of safety and environmental policy. In the event of accidents or salvages that block or narrow shipping lanes (e.g. EVER GIVEN in the Suez Canal), a traffic forecast facilitates the management of future shipping traffic in the region. The project provides a new service for the maritime industry and enables innovative business models. The application is useful for maritime logistics companies who benefit from improved port forecasts and arrival times, as well as for maritime security authorities who for the first time can obtain detailed information in advance about the expected traffic volume in the North and Baltic Seas. The web application for sea traffic forecasting developed as part of PRESEA is used by shipping companies, canal operators, and traffic control centers to increase maritime safety.

Project goal

The aim of PRESEA is the development of an AI-supported real-time-based software application that predicts the actual sea traffic in a certain area of ​​the North and Baltic Sea up to 14 days in advance and displays it in a user-friendly way. The software is based on AIS data (Automatic Identification System), timetables for regular service, ferry and cruise ships as well as tide and weather data. 

Play Video

Review of United Nation Location Codes

An essential step in the prediction of maritime traffic is the interpretation of the destination in AIS. Very often, ships use the UNLoCode for this purpose. In order to check whether JCS has recorded all LoCodes for a port, these were compared with the more than 4500 FleetMon Port Areas. During this investigation, several errors were found in the UN databases and this was passed on to the authorities.

Identifying the upcoming ports on the voyage

In a complex procedure, the next port is determined on the basis of the destination string contained in the AIS. More than 300,000 alternative spellings and interpretations of port names are used for this purpose. Taking into account the last port call, the next port is determined together with the UNLoCode.

In the example on the side, the Atlantic Clover was identified as the next port of Hon Gai in Vietnam. This ship is now guided to its destination using a routing algorithm.

The next crucial step is to determine the expected upcoming ports. For this purpose, port calls from the years 2010 to 2020 were used and the port calls for each ship (AIS A-Class) were used. With cross-reference to the current state and the current manager and owner of the ship, the next 5 ports are predicted. Hundreds of millions of port calls were examined for this process and brought into relation with each other as described.
A permanent examination of the results was carried out. For this process, a jump was made to any point in time in the past and the results were checked against the subsequent past.
The evaluation resulted in an extremely good hit rate, which means that JCS will be able to predict the coming port calls for almost all commercially described ships.

Implementation

With the help of the MERMAID (Maritime Routing Maps based on AIS Data) joint project, the information is linked to one another for worldwide shipping traffic and its algorithms, as well as the application of basic artificial intelligence (AI) processes. The aim of the AI ​​is to predict the next ports as precisely as possible, taking into account previous calls to ports, the type of ship and the length of the ship. A special innovation from PRESEA is to provide the routing network, which already takes static environmental conditions such as shallows and straits into account, with an automated dynamic that shifts the route guidance in real-time in the event of weather phenomena based on complex calculations depending on the type of ship.

Results

An important milestone achieved in the project is the reliable detection of the next destination port (AIS Destination Interpreter) with a probability of over 90%. When entering the destination or port of destination manually in the AIS on board, typing errors and ambiguous abbreviations often occur. A self-learning algorithm developed by FleetMon compares the manual input with the actual port of destination and enables the port information to be clearly interpreted. Another milestone is the improvement of the estimated time of arrival (ETA) of a ship in the port. Delays due to goods loading times or weather events such as storms are correlated within the scope of PreSEA with the original arrival time, which means that the travel time can be determined more precisely. After the end of the project on November 30th, 2021, JAKOTA Cruise Systems will continue to develop the demonstrator into a marketable product for global sea traffic forecasting.

Visuaization of partial outcomes

Poster 1: Automatic Identification System (AIS) In order to improve safety in maritime traffic and for a better control of shipping, the AIS became an equipment obligation for a wide variety of ships. Which ships are affected, how the system is set up, how it works and some other information about the AIS have been compiled and presented in a poster that is clear and informative.

Poster 2: Seaports of the same name around the world That a ship can clearly indicate its destination and display it correctly in the AIS, there is a so-called LOCODE for each port. Nevertheless, it can happen that the crew enters the full name of the respective port in the AIS. This can lead to ambiguities in some cases, as there are various ports of the same name worldwide. The most important are graphically illustrated in this poster.

Poster 3: UN/LOCODE One of the main tasks of the sub-project is the development of meaningful algorithms for assigning destination ports. These are usually entered as a so-called LOCODE in the AIS. This led to various questions, e.g., according to the legal basis of the LOCODE and how and by whom it is assigned and documented. For a clear illustration a poster was created with the most important information about the topic.

Events

When: Sep 24 2020

The Project PRESEA was presented at the conference. The title of the presentation was “PRESEA project – Advantages of maritime traffic forecasting in an emergency”.

Blog & Publications

The data revolution in shipping

FleetMon works on a scalable AI-based approach to predict upcoming port destinations from vessels based on historical AIS data. The respective method is mainly intended as a fill in for cases where the AIS destination entry of a vessel is not interpretable. We succeeded to find a stable and efficient in-database AI solution built on Markov models suited for massively parallel prediction tasks with high accuracy. The research is part of a funded project called PRESEA (“Real-time based maritime traffic forecast”).

How a real-time-based sea traffic forecast helps to organize and optimize the flow of maritime goods

As part of the PRESEA research project, which began in summer 2019, a real-time-based sea traffic forecast application is to be developed. In contrast to existing systems that display the position of ships at the time of the query, the new software prototype calculates and shows the expected number of ships in the coming days for any sea area in the world.

Table of Contents

Project coordinator

Project partner

Associate partners

Reederei F. Laeisz, Daimler AG, Synfioo, DNV

Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie
Founded by

BMWI - Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Project framework

Real-time technologies for maritime Safety

Projektträger Jülich
Promoter

Projektträger Jülich

Project Duration

Jun 2019 – Nov 2021

Funding Volume

750,000 Euro

Contact

Share This Project

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email